Learning Characteristics


1. All subjects are taught through a combination of activities and traditional instruction, with the support of cross-subject activities, such as unit or thematic teaching, subject related school trips, project work and curriculum integration, in order to increase interest in different areas of learning for students. The curriculum aims mainly to develop students' higher-order thinking skills in analysis, integration, evaluation and creativity.
   
2. Biliteracy and Trilingual Learning
  The medium of instruction in Chinese lessons is predominantly in Putonghua. This provides students with an excellent environment to improve their listening and speaking skills in this language. Additionally, the inclusion of elements in debating in the oral part of these lessons will strengthen students’ analytical skills to view situations from different perspectives. There are separate reading classes in Cantonese in all year groups that focus on classical and contemporary literature to improve students' literature knowledge.
  The thematic teaching approach is used in English lessons. Teachers use the textbooks and the student's life experiences and interests to develop differently themed activities for listening, speaking and writing to help students gain knowledge and enable them to learn English in a more systematic and meaningful way. Primary One, Primary Two and Primary Four students will also have IPA classes that focus on improving English pronunciation and fluency skills when reading aloud.
  Tailor-made Chinese and English oral classes teach students reading aloud, presentation, public speaking and debating skills. The specially designed English Activity Room provides students with the right environment to learn in when they participate in the fun English activities led by our NETs.
  Besides the subjects of Chinese and English, students in all year groups have specialised Putonghua and English Oral classes. Native speaking teachers use different themes to teach students in small groups in order to maximise speaking opportunities in Putonghua and English for students.
  Every Thursday is either Chinese or English Language Day. This provides a suitable platform for booth games, shows and activities to be held and students to consolidate their biliteracy and trilingual skills. In addition, the library runs differently themed reading programmes every year to nurture a love of reading in our students, develop their reading ability and encourage a positive attitude towards books and reading in order to gain a wide range of reading skills.
   
3. KTS actively encourages the use of STEAM education in order to enable students to be independent learners and know how to utilise the six stages of the STEAM Mode of Thinking to solve problems (detailed observation, problem analysis, solution development, execution of solution, reflection for improvements, and innovative thinking), and to uncover any creative potential. In order to consolidate the development of STEAM education, besides incorporating STEAM elements into the curriculum of General Studies, Science, Information Technology, Integrated Arts, and Maths, we have also strengthened cross-subject lessons and curriculum development along with opportunities for more hands-on experience. We help students build basic knowledge and skills in science and technology, and use enquiry-based learning to teach students how to become more independent learners. In addition, we have also added additional facilities to help develop our STEAM programme, including an Innovation and Technology Study Room, a Maker Studio, a greenhouse, a hydroponic system and a natural learning centre, in order for students to gain more knowledge and understanding of various fields in STEAM.
   
4. Music, PE, and Visual Arts are specialised subjects. Music and Visual Arts have been combined into Integrated Arts that incorporates different elements and areas of art, such as drama, calligraphy, animation, photography, short filmmaking, etc. Through filmmaking and animation production in our TV studio, students obtain different experiences that boost their creativity skills.
   
5. A special learning needs group has been set up to cater for the learning diversity of students, foster students with potential in different subjects, and inspire their higher order thinking skills through classroom and extracurricular courses and remedial classes. A peer tutoring programme has also been established to assist those students whose potential has not been fulfilled. In addition, school-based training courses for gifted students are offered in different subjects according to a student's specialities and abilities, so that more capable and gifted students can realise their full potential, such as oral training, creative writing (English language), Talented Thinkers, Mathematical Olympiad, STEAM Club and Affective Education.
   
6. In 2015, KTS received a Silver award from the World Health Organization and was officially recognised as a Healthy School. Our school also successfully obtained the following accreditations "Advanced Level Accreditation (Lunch)" and "Advanced Level Accreditation (Snacks)" issued by the Department of Health and therefore, was recognised as an "EatSmart School". Additionally, KTS has implemented a holistic health care programme. This programme enables all teachers, students and parents to participate in different kinds of school-based activities, including the establishment of health ambassadors, setting up exercise activities during recess, Friday exercise days. The purpose is to build a healthy school, help students develop good healthy habits, positive values and attitudes towards life, and reinforce their optimism and resilience, so they can grow up healthily and happily.
   
7. KTS regards information literacy as a long-term concern of the school, and methodically infuses information literacy into students' learning via different means, such as school policies, teachers and parents. All subject departments cross over and collaborate with each other, use courses and activities to include elements of information literacy, in order to guide students to establish a sense of awareness in how to use the internet safely, strengthen their vigilance for traps and dangers online to protect their personal information in the age of the internet. KTS also conducts parent education on information literacy through parent meetings and seminars for parents. In addition, KTS has participated in the EDB’s Wise NET School Award Scheme, and shown that information literacy work has been carried out at four levels: the school, teachers, parents and students. In view of the fact that KTS has achieved overall development in areas such as information literacy, online safety and preventing cyberbullying, it was awarded the Commendation Award by the EDB in 2020.

學習特色

1. 各科課程採用活動及傳統相結合的教學法,並輔以單元或主題教學、學科參觀、專題研習及課程統整等跨學科活動,以提高學生對各學習範疇之興趣;課程著重培養學生之分析、綜合、評鑑及創意等高階思維能力。
 
2. 兩文三語學習
中文科主要以普通話作教學語言,創設語境,提升學生聽說普通話的能力。各級另設閱讀課,以粵語教授,重點教授古今文學作品,增進學生的文學涵養。
英文科採用「主題式教學法」。老師會參考教科書,並因應教學目標、學生生活體驗和興趣,設計與主題有關的聽、說、讀、寫活動,幫助學生建構知識,讓學生學習英語的過程變得更有系統和有意義。小一、小二及小四另設IPA課程,讓學生能掌握準確的英語發音及提升朗讀英語的流暢度。
中、英文科特設說話課,專門訓練學生的朗讀、表達及演說的技巧。而英文科更設英語室,希望學生在良好的英語環境下,由外籍老師帶領進行有趣的英語活動。
除中、英兩語文主科外,各級亦有開設普通話科及英語會話科,由操母語的老師專門任教,以小班教學形式進行,通過不同的情境教學,增加學生學習普通話及英語的機會。
每逢周二定為中、英語文日,提供適設平台,舉行各類型攤位、表演活動,從中鞏固學生兩文三語的能力。此外,圖書館每年推行不同主題的閱讀計劃,培養學生閱讀的興趣、能力和態度,以達廣泛閱讀之效。
 
3. 本校積極推行STEM教育,目的讓學生學會自主學習,並懂得運用STEM思維模式的六個層次去解決面對的難題(包括細心觀察、分析問題、擬定策略、解決問題、反思優化及創新思維),以及發揮其創意潛能。為配合STEM發展,我們除在英文常識科、科學研習課、電腦課及數學科課程內加入STEM元素,加強跨學科學習及編程教學,亦幫助學生建構科學和科技的基礎知識和技能,並以問題為本的思維模式教學,提升學生自學探究的能力。此外,還增加相應的學習設施以配合STEM的發展,其中包括創科研習室、創客工作室、溫室、水耕設施等,務求增進同學在STEM各個領域的認識。
 
4. 音樂、體育、視藝已實施專科專教。音樂、視藝合併為綜合藝術科,加入不同藝術領域的元素如戲劇、書法及拍攝等;設校園電視台,提供學生另類的學習經歷,透過影片及動畫製作訓練,提升學生的創作能力。
 
5. 照顧學生個別差異,設特別學習需要組,透過課堂及以外之延伸課程,栽培在各科具潛能之學生,啟發學生高層次的思維;另設保底課程及友輩教學計劃,協助潛能未展之學生。亦於不同的學習領域推行抽離式校本資優培訓課程,使高能力及資優生的潛能得以發揮,例如:口才訓練、中英文創意寫作、小小思考家、奧數、科學學會及情意教室等。
 
6. 2015年通過世界衞生組織認證,獲評為銀獎得主,正式成為「健康學校」。本校亦成功取得由衞生署頒發的「健康午膳優質認證」、「健康小食優質認證」,並獲嘉許為「至營學校」,並繼續積極推行全人健康計劃。上述計劃對象包括全校師生及家長,並推行各種校本活動,包括成立健康大使、課間操、周五全校運動日、午膳即場灼菜等,目的在齊心建設健康校園,幫助學生從小養成良好的健康生活習慣、正面的價值觀和積極上進的生活態度,加強他們的正面能量及抗逆力,使他們健康愉快地成長。